List Of President Of India PDF (भारत के राष्ट्रपतियों की सूची)

The President of India is the first citizen of the country. That is, the President of India is called the head of the country. According to Article 53 of the Constitution of India, executive power is vested in him. Apart from this, he is also the chief of the Indian Armed Forces. That is, the President has an important role in the Constitution of India. Till now, there have been 15 Presidents in India. If you want to see the list of all presidents with their tenure, then download the PDF by clicking on the link given below the article.

List Of President Of India (1950 to 2022) भारत के राष्ट्रपतियों की सूची और उनका कार्यकाल

No.NameFromToHome State
1Rajendra Prasad26 January 195013 May 1962Bihar
2Sarvepalli Radhakrishnan13 May 196213 May 1967Tamil Nadu
3Zakir Husain13 May 19673 May 1969Telangana
ActingVarahagiri Venkata Giri3 May 196920 July 1969Odisha
ActingM. Hidayatullah20 July 196924 August 1969Uttar Pradesh
4Varahagiri Venkata Giri24 August 196924 August 1974Odisha
5Fakhruddin Ali Ahmed24 August 197411 February 1977NCT of Delhi
ActingB. D. Jatti11 February 197725 July 1977Karnataka
6Neelam Sanjiva Reddy25 July 197725 July 1982Andhra Pradesh
7Giani Zail Singh25 July 198225 July 1987Punjab
8R. Venkataraman25 July 198725 July 1992Tamil Nadu
9Shanker Dayal Sharma25 July 199225 July 1997Madhya Pradesh
10K. R. Narayanan25 July 199725 July 2002Kerala
11A. P. J. Abdul Kalam25 July 200225 July 2007Tamil Nadu
12Pratibha Devisingh Patil25 July 200725 July 2012Maharashtra
13Pranab Mukherjee25 July 201225 July 2017West Bengal
14Ram Nath Kovind25 July 201725 July 2022Uttar Pradesh
15Droupadi Murmu25 July 2022CurrentOdisha

Qualifications to become President of India

India is the largest democratic country in the world. The office of the President is the highest constitutional here. So if you want to get this highest post in India then you must have the below-given qualifications-

  • It is mandatory to be a citizen of India.
  • The minimum age to become President is 35 years.
  • He/She should fulfill the qualifications to become a member of the Lok Sabha.
  • That person should not be working in any other post.
  • To become a presidential candidate, he must have at least 50 proposers and 50 supporters.
  • The Presidential candidate should not be a member of either House of Parliament or the Legislative Assembly.
  • The security deposit for the post of President is ₹15000. If the candidate does not get off the total valid votes, then this amount is forfeited.
See also  MS Powerpoint Shortcut Keys PDF

Functions and Powers of the President of India

Executive Powers – The President of India has executive powers, under which he appoints the member of the Prime Minister’s Council of Ministers, the Chief Justices of the Supreme and High Courts, the Comptroller and Auditor General of India, the Attorney General of India, the Governors of the States; the Chief Election Commissioner and others. The Election Commissioner, the Chairman, and other members of UPSC.

Legislative Powers – The President is an integral part of the Parliament, any law is made only after the President’s signature.

The President has the power to nominate two Anglo-Indians to the Lok Sabha and 12 members to the Rajya Sabha.

Judicial Powers – Under Article 72 of the Indian Constitution, the President has the right to pardon any criminal. At the same time, he can also reduce the period of punishment. Apart from this, the format of Pay Day can also be changed.

Military Powers – The President of India is the supreme commander of the armed forces. He has the right to declare war and peace.

Discretionary Powers – According to the Indian Constitution, the President has to act on the advice of the Council of Ministers. But when one party does not get a majority in the Lok Sabha or the Prime Minister dies suddenly or a no-confidence motion has been passed against the Council of Ministers, the President can take decisions in all these situations on the basis of his discretion.

Emergency Powers – The President of India has emergency powers. Under Article 352, if there is external aggression or armed rebellion, then he can declare an emergency in the whole or any part of India keeping in mind the security.

See also  Conduct Certificate Form PDF

Under Article 356, if a state government is not functioning according to the constitutional rules and regulations, the President can immediately impose President’s rule in that state.

If there is a situation of the economic crisis in the country, the President can declare a financial emergency by exercising his special powers.

Veto Powers – The President has Absolute Veto, Suspension Veto, and Pocket Veto powers.

What is the salary of the Indian President?

At present, the President of India gets ₹ 500000 per month. On which he would not have to pay any kind of tax. In addition to the salary, the President of India gets a residence at Rashtrapati Bhavan located in New Delhi. Free treatment and accommodation facilities are available even after the term of the President is over.

Download PDF Now

If the download link provided in the post (List Of President Of India PDF (भारत के राष्ट्रपतियों की सूची)) is not functioning or is in violation of the law or has any other issues, please contact us. If this post contains any copyrighted links or material, we will not provide its PDF or any other downloading source.

Leave a Comment

Join Our UPSC Material Group (Free)